Bibliography

(Note: You may click the “Mark Complete” button at the bottom of this page to continue to the Survey page.)

“A Guide to Finding Jobs in Russia.” Expatica, https://www.expatica.com/ru/working/finding-a-job/finding-jobs-in-russia-509599/, (accessed 03/14/2023).

“American Culture and Behavior.” Immihelp, https://www.immihelp.com/american-culture-and-behavior/ (accessed 05/31/2022).

Anderson, Kristin and Ron Zemke. Delivering Knock Your Socks Off Service. New York: Amacom, 1998.

Barrett, N.R. “Publish or Perish,” Journal of Thoracic and Cardiovascular Surgery, vol. 44, no. 2 (August 1962).

“Caste in the United States.” Equality Labs, https://www.equalitylabs.org/castesurvey, (accessed 08/29/2023).

Castellanos-Canales, Arturo. “The Reasons Behind the Increased Migration from Venezuela, Cuba, and Nicaragua,” National Immigration Forum (February 09, 2023)

https://immigrationforum.org/article/the-reasons-behind-the-increased-migration-from-venezuela-cuba-and-nicaragua/ (accessed 08/16/2023).

Chipman, Ian. “Beware of Workplace Policies That Kill Motivation,” Insights by Stanford Business, (September 08, 2017), https://www.gsb.stanford.edu/insights/beware-workplace-policies-kill-motivation, (accessed 02/03/2022).

Chishti, Muzaffar, Faye Hipsman, and Isabel Ball. “Fifty Years On, the 1965 Immigration and Nationality Act Continues to Reshape the United States,” (October 15, 2015), Migration Policy Institute, https://www.migrationpolicy.org/article/fifty-years-1965-immigration-and-nationality-act-continues-reshape-united-states (accessed 07/29/2021).

The CIA World Factbook, https://www.cia.gov/library/publications/the-world-factbook/geos/ve.html, (accessed 07/19/2022).

Cohen, Eric H. and Jose Valencia. “Political Protest and Power Distance,” (July 2008), Bulletin of Sociological Methodology, https://journals.openedition.org/bms/2833 (accessed 07/29/2021).

“Confucianism.” National Geographic,

https://education.nationalgeographic.org/resource/confucianism/, (accessed 09/21/2023).

Cotton, Gayle. Say Anything to Anyone, Anywhere, New Jersey:John Wiley & Sons, 2013.

“Country Comparison.” Hofstede Insights, https://www.hofstede-insights.com/country-comparison/, (accessed 09/06/2021).

Drakulić, Slavenka, How We Survived Communism and Even Laughed. London :Hutchinson, 1992.

Fischer, Susanne, et al. “Psychobiological impact of speaking a second language in healthy young men,” Stress, 2019 May; 22(3):403-407.

Freeman, Will, “Why the Situation in Cuba is Deteriorating,” 

https://www.cfr.org/in-brief/why-situation-cuba-deteriorating, (accessed 08/22/2023).

Fox, William M. “Japanese Management: Tradition under Strain,” Science Direct, August 1977, https://www.sciencedirect.com/science/article/abs/pii/000768137790012X, (accessed 05/15/2015).

Gerdeman, Dina. “Why Japanese Businesses are so Good at Surviving Crises,” Harvard Business School Working Knowledge,  26 June 2020, https://hbswk.hbs.edu/item/why-japan-s-businesses-are-so-good-at-surviving-crises, (accessed July 26, 2023).

George, Alex Andrews. “Reservation in India – Explained in Layman’s Terms,” Clear IAS, https://www.clearias.com/reservation-in-india/ (accessed 09/08/2022).

H., John, Interview, Conducted by Kathleen Manning, 20 July 2018.

Haramija, Predrag, “The Presence and Consequences of Worldview Legacy of Communism,” Bogoslovska Smotr, 87: pp. 863-883, 2018.

Hofstede, Geert. Cultures and Organizations: Software of the Mind, New York:McGraw Hill, 2010.

Holt, P.M., Ann K.S. Lambton, and Bernard Lewis, eds. The Cambridge History of Islam: Volume 1, The Central Islamic Lands, Cambridge:Cambridge University Press, 1971.

“Honour, Face, and Shame in Arab Culture,” Commisceo Global, https://www.commisceo-global.com/blog/honour-face-shame-arab-culture (accessed 06/01/2022).

“How Happy is the Planet?” Happy Planet Index, http://happyplanetindex.org/ (accessed 09/02/2021). 

“How Many Catholics are in The World?” Scripture Catholic, https://www.scripturecatholic.com/how-many-catholics-in-the-world/ (accessed 05/23/2022).

“How Venezuela became a Communist Totalitarian State.” Q Costa Rica, https://qcostarica.com/how-venezuela-became-a-communist-totalitarian-state/ (accessed 08/16/2023).

“Japanese Culture Core Concepts.” Culture Atlas, https://culturalatlas.sbs.com.au/japanese-culture/japanese-culture-core-concepts (accessed 08/16/2021).

“Japan’s High Context Society.” Japanology, https://japanology.org/2016/10/japans-high-context-society-tips-on-reading-between-the-lines/ (accessed 08/25/2021).

Kammer, Jerry. “The Hart-Cellar Immigration Act of 1965,” (September 30, 2015), Center for Immigration Studies, https://cis.org/Report/HartCeller-Immigration-Act-1965 (accessed 06/14/2021).

Kung, Hans. The Catholic Church: A Short History, New York: The Modern Library, 2003. 

Lapidus, Ira M. A History of Islamic Societies, third edition. Cambridge:Cambridge University Press, 2014.

Levine, R. V., & Norenzayan, A. (1999). The Pace of Life in 31 Countries. Journal of Cross-Cultural Psychology, 30(2), 178–205. https://doi.org/10.1177/0022022199030002003 (accessed 05/09/2022).

Lewis, Richard. Business Insider, (June 1, 2014),  https://www.businessinsider.com/how-different-cultures-understand-time-2014-5?op=1 (accessed 06/10/2022).

Lewis, Richard. When Cultures Collide, Third Edition, Finland:W.S. Bookwell, 2006.

McManners, John, ed. The Oxford Illustrated History of Christianity, Oxford:Oxford University Press, 2001.

Meyer, Erin. The Culture Map: Breaking Through the Invisible Boundaries of Global Business, New York:Public Affairs, 2014.

Molinsky, Andy. Global Dexterity, Boston:Harvard Business Review Press, 2013. 

Muggah, Robert. “With Russian Support, Nicaragua Smothers Dissent.” Foreign Policy, (March 9, 2023),

https://foreignpolicy.com/2023/03/09/nicaragua-ortega-crackdown-surveillance-authoritarianism-russia-opposition-dissent/ (accessed 08/16/2023).

“Native American Agriculture.” Encyclopedia of the Great Plains, ​​http://plainshumanities.unl.edu/encyclopedia/doc/egp.ag.052, (accessed 05/25/2022).

“Native American Boarding Schools and Education History.” Native Hope, (December 26, 2021), 

https://blog.nativehope.org/native-american-boarding-schools-and-education-history (accessed 05/25/2022).

Paul, Sonia. “Trapped in Silicon Valley’s Hidden Caste System.” Wired, (March 1, 2022)

https://www.wired.com/story/trapped-in-silicon-valleys-hidden-caste-system/ (accessed 08/29/2023).

Penelope. “Spanish Business Culture – Theory vs. Reality,” Self Employed in Spain, (June 4, 2016), https://selfemployedinspain.com/spanish-business-culture/ (accessed 09/07/2021).

Praxis Circle. “Why Study Worldview?,” (October 23, 2018),  https://praxiscircle.com/blog/why-study-worldview-part-ii-of-iii (accessed 07/21/2021).

Sahgal, Neha, et al. Pew Research Center, “Religion in India: Tolerance and Segregation,” June 29, 2021 https://www.pewresearch.org/religion/2021/06/29/attitudes-about-caste/ (accessed 09/09/2023).

Storti, Craig. Figuring Foreigners Out, Yarmouth, MN:Intercultural Press, 1999.

Taggart, Emma. My Modern Met, (February 24, 2020), https://mymodernmet.com/empathy-classes-demark/ (accessed 09/02/2021).

“Uncertainty Avoidance,” Clearly Cultural, http://clearlycultural.com/geert-hofstede-cultural-dimensions/uncertainty-avoidance-index/, (accessed 06/01/22).

“Western Countries 2022.” World Population Review, (2022), https://worldpopulationreview.com/country-rankings/western-countries ,(accessed 08/17/2021).

“What is Coining (Gua Sha)?” Stanford Medicine, https://stanfordmedicine25.stanford.edu/blog/archive/2016/skincoining.html, (accessed 05/26/2022).

“Why Multitasking Doesn’t Work.” Cleveland Clinic Health Essentials, (March 10, 2021), https://health.clevelandclinic.org/science-clear-multitasking-doesnt-work/ (accessed 06/10/2022).

Winthrop, Rebecca. “Global ‘100-Year Gap’ in Education Standards,” BBC, (April 29, 2015),

https://www.bbc.com/news/business-32397212, (accessed 09/01/2021).

Woodbury, Craig. “Endangered Languages,” Linguistic Society of America, https://www.linguisticsociety.org/content/endangered-languages, (accessed 09/22/2023).

“Work-Life Balance.” Passport to Trade, (https://businessculture.org/western-europe/business-culture-in-austria/work-life-balance-in-austria/, (accessed 09/06/2021).

Please complete the Survey below. Your certificate will be available just after the Survey.